Block Therapy, Meditation and the Chakra System

I begin this week's blog with the understanding that discussing meditation, chakras and energy may not be in your belief system. Because Block Therapy addresses all aspects of the body – the physical, mental, emotional and spiritual – I believe that it is important to discuss the spiritual and healing aspect of the Block.  As this blog corresponds with the beginning of the 7 Week Chakra Cleanse, it feels necessary to explain this aspect of the practice, and how doing this work can create a sense of empowerment in our lives.

Block Therapy is a therapy, exercise, and meditation in one. The therapy aspect addresses adhesions in the body that block blood and oxygen flow to cells. Focusing on strengthening the diaphragm and isometric resistance, while on the Block, brings in the exercise component.  The focus on your pain, combined with diaphragmatic breathing, activates the parasympathetic nervous system, creating a state of deep relaxation.

Meditation is defined as a practice where an individual uses a technique such as mindfulness, or focusing the mind on a particular object, thought, or activity, to train attention and awareness, and achieve a mentally clear, emotionally calm and stable state. This is the beauty of lying on the Block and focusing on your pain – your mind doesn’t wander. You are present in the moment with the sensations and the action of diaphragmatic breathing.

In our community, we often have people mention how this practice makes them feel calm and at peace. It helps with their stress and anxiety. When cells receive proper amounts of oxygen and nutrients, as well as when they have a clean environment, they are relaxed. Anxiety results from the cells not getting what they need to function – simply their language to let us know they need attention.

The meditative aspect of Block Therapy allows us to connect with our inner selves, our body and its language. We learn what our body is trying to communicate to us. Through its expression of pain and restriction, our body shows us where and what we need to address to heal. As we lay on the Block, we can use this meditative state to direct the breath and oxygen to the area, and release stress and toxins as we exhale. Through this meditative state, we learn to be more conscious in our bodies, and, as a lovely side effect, we live our daily lives more consciously.

When we become more conscious of our body, we learn that we are more than a physical being. We have a mental, emotional and spiritual self, layered within us. There is a flow of energy between each of these selves, creating balance and synergy in the body. Fascia innervates every cell in the body and if there are adhesions, all flow becomes blocked, including the flow of synergy.

A concept you may or may not be familiar with is our body has an energetic system, connected to our spiritual self, called the chakra system. The Chakras are the energy centers in the body that distribute the life force to all the cells.  

The chakra system has seven energy centers, starting at the base of the spine – the Root Chakra, and ending at the top of the head – the Crown Chakra. These are like wheels that send the life force, or prana, to all cells to keep us alive and healthy. If adhesions develop in any one of these centers, physical, emotional and mental pain and suffering can result. By releasing these adhesions, you create the necessary space in your body and mind. When the mind is clear, the body follows. When your body feels better, it allows the space for the creation of positive shifts in your life.

Each chakra houses different aspects of your life and corresponds with different parts of the body. When there is dis-ease in any part of the body, checking in with your chakras can often tell you why you are manifesting your current physical experience.

Crown Chakra (white) – the focus is on your connection to your Higher Self and Universal knowledge

Third Eye/Brow Chakra (amethyst) – the focus is on awakening the third eye, on trusting your inner wisdom and intuition

Throat Chakra (indigo blue) – the focus is on expression, communication and creativity

Heart Chakra (green) – the focus is love and compassion, for self and others

Solar Plexus (yellow) - the focus is self-discipline and empowerment

Sacral Chakra (orange) - the focus is improving interpersonal relationships and being able to enjoy a fulfilling creative life

Root Chakra (red) – the focus is survival and feeling safe in the world

By releasing the fascia that binds these areas, we allow for release and healing of limited thinking and beliefs, old patterns that are not serving us well, creating space for forgiveness and compassion to fill that space. Both of these emotions are far more expansive within our bodies, physically & energetically. Feeling the expansiveness within our body is the whole purpose of a Block Therapy practice. To fully access our chakras, and to detoxify our tissues, the meditative aspect of Block Therapy is imperative.

We can become whole when we address ourselves on all levels. Block Therapy helps us achieve balance by, bringing us into flow and ease within our Selves and our cells. Physically, mentally, emotionally AND spiritually.

Next Week: My Block Story - Scoliosis|Self-Confidence

Related Articles

Fascia Decompression & Parkinson’s Disease

April is Parkinson’s Awareness Month. I recently wrote a paper explaining how fascia decompression benefits those struggling with this disease, and over the next 4 weeks I want to share information here to give those struggling hope that there is a way to manage and improve symptoms. Why the Fascia System needs to be addressed…


Success message!
Warning message!
Error message!